Reviews

What people are saying about Longmead House




What a lucky find - Rating 5/5

Having made a fairly late decision to visit the Lynton &Barnstaple Railway Gala, I wasn't very hopeful of finding good accomodation, but we couldn't have made a better choice than Longmead House.From the warm welcome from Lauren through to the comfortable room, and excellent breakfasts, we had a first class stay.Loved the location, both of Lynton (never been before) and the hotel - I have never been awoken by the call of a tawny owl on the outskirts of a town before.All in all a very special weekend.Thank you.(We won't of course, hold you responsible for the decision by some muppet to close the A39 on the Monday morning which meant a massive detour to get to Minehead, and miss our planned train on the West Somerset Railway before heading home to West Sussex!!!)

Reviewer:Martin C | Tue 2nd Oct 2018 | 2 weeks ago


Great B&B - Rating 5/5

Can thoroughly recommend Longmead House in Lynton.A very comfortable stay, I had a single room which while compact had everything I needed and didn't spend a lot of time in it anyway.Lauren is very friendly and welcoming and Henry's breakfasts are probably among the best I've had, there are only a few of which I'd make this comment.A lovely time, great walks around Exmoor and a stroll down the road to the Valley of the Rocks which is such a special place.

Reviewer:Tricia A | Sat 25th Aug 2018 | 1 month ago


A pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

I stayed one night in the single room, which, though compact, was perfectly adequate, clean and very comfortable. Lauren was very friendly, informative and went out of her way to make sure I had a suitable breakfast. The location, close to the shops and coast path, was very convenient.

Reviewer:Abigail B | Thu 23rd Aug 2018 | 1 month ago


Holiday - Rating 5/5

Beautiful guest house, the delightful character of the house was retained while still providing a very comfortable stay.Lauren and Henry were excellent, welcoming hosts. We had a wonderful stay.

Reviewer:Mary S | Tue 24th Jul 2018 | 2 months ago


Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

I just had a most enjoyable stay at Longmead House. Everything you might need was thought of and supplied. The breakfasts were amazing and everything was spotless. Easy parking and perfect hosts. Thank you Lauren and Henry I will be back soon.

Reviewer:Cornelia A | Fri 6th Jul 2018 | 3 months ago


Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

I just had a most enjoyable stay at Longmead House. Everything you might need was thought of and supplied. The breakfasts were amazing and everything was spotless. Easy parking and perfect hosts. Thank you Lauren and Henry I will be back soon.

Reviewer:Cornelia A | Fri 6th Jul 2018 | 3 months ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Longmead House is an excellent choice as a base to explore the Lynton and Lynmouth area.It’s just a short walk down to the Valley of the Rocks, for stunning scenery and beautiful sunsets.Our room was lovely and comfortable.Lauren and Henry are perfect hosts, very welcoming and considerate:booking a table for dinner at a local restaurant for us on our first night there, which was very helpful.Breakfasts are a real treat, with home-made bread and marmalade, and an outstanding full-English on the menu.We would highly recommend staying at Longmead House.

Reviewer:Elizabeth R | Thu 5th Jul 2018 | 3 months ago


enjoyable stop on the way - Rating 5/5

I arrived Longmead House after an exhausting walk and had a very warm welcome. My room was lovely and I got very good recommendations for restaurants. The Hosts offered a great breakfast which brought me through the day. Many tanks :-)

Reviewer:Carola K | Tue 26th Jun 2018 | 3 months ago


Return to Longmead House 2018 - Rating 5/5

Fourth visit to Longmead. Lauren and Henry provided their usual excellent service. Lovely room, pretty garden to sit out in with a glass of wine, and tasty breakfast. Off street parking and walking distance to a variety of restaurants for dinner, so a great location to relax.

Reviewer:Jacky C | Wed 13th Jun 2018 | 4 months ago


Long mead House Lynton - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation. Super breakfast,very friendly hosts.Good easy on site parking. The accommodation is situated in a lovely part of North Devon and is ideal for walkers.There are several very good restaurants close by. Thoroughly recommended, we will definitely return.

Reviewer:Peter T | Fri 8th Jun 2018 | 4 months ago


pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

Very nic place, wonderful rooms, hosts very friendly and helpful. Very good breakfast. Near to the Valley of the Rocks.

Reviewer:Christine P | Mon 21st May 2018 | 4 months ago


You did it again - Rating 5/5

Having stayed a couple of years ago on our return we felt that it was even better well done Henry keep doing what you do so well.

Reviewer:Keith G | Tue 1st May 2018 | 5 months ago


Home from home- Rating 5/5

Lauren and Henry are fantastic hosts.We always look forward to our visits and of course the fabulous breakfasts.

Reviewer:Brian W | Sun 22nd Apr 2018 | 5 months ago


Spring Stay - Rating 5/5

We just wanted to say how much we enjoyed our visit to Lynton. We had such a comfortable stay and everything was absolutely spotless. There was a really good choice for breakfast but Henry's 'Full English' was so delicious we just didn't get around to trying anything else! Lauren and Henry were both lovely, so friendly and welcoming. Thank you again.

Reviewer:Mr. & Mrs. T | Fri 16th Mar 2018 | 7 months ago


Overnight stay to visit the area - Rating 5/5

We had a very enjoyable and pleasant overnight stay at Longmead House. The couple running the accommodation give a marvellous service, and offer an excellent cooked to order breakfast, with plenty of choices of hot and cold dishes.Our room was very comfortable and quiet, and although not large, had a good choice of hot drinks to make, plus bottles of water and biscuits!It was very pleasant overnight stay for us on this occasion, and we were very impressed with everything which is all done by Lauren and Henry.We would certainly recommend Longmead House for a short or longer stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. Miriam C | Tue 24th Oct 2017 | 11 months ago


Weekend Stay at Longmead House - Rating 5/5

The location is excellent, everything is walking distance. The hosts are very lovely and warm and made sure we were well greeted despite arriving late on the Friday. Room was clean and comfy. A lovely little stay.

Reviewer:NIM J | Tue 3rd Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Walking trip to North Devon - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay as usual in this lovely part of Devon. Lauren and Henry made us very welcome. Will be back!!

Reviewer:Kingsley and Caroline M | Sun 3rd Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Nice B&B, friendly owners - Rating 5/5

I booked two nights here when I was looking to spend a couple of days in Lynton and Lynmouth. I chose Longmead House due to the availability of a single room with en suite shower room, but the reviews were also consistently good, so that helped me to decide to stay here. I was very glad I did. Longmead House is in a nice location on the edge of Lynton, just a few minutes walk into the town centre. I was warmly greeted by Lauren and Henry. There is a large lounge for guests and my room was very comfortable. The breakfasts in the morning were great, lots of fruit salad and cereals to start followed by a good full English cooked to order by Henry. It was the perfect base for me whilst staying in Lynton, shame I only had two nights there, but if I ever go back to Lynton I shall certainly look at staying at Longmead House again.

Reviewer:Patrick L | Sat 2nd Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


As Good As Ever - Rating 5/5

This was our 5th stay at Longmead House and as ever it did not disappoint. Lauren &Henry are excellent hosts and the quality and location of the accommodation is very high. We will return again.

Reviewer:Mr. Colin C | Fri 1st Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely break in friendly b&b - Rating 5/5

We had originally planned for this B&B to be a stop off during a week long hike. We couldn't do the hike in the end, but we are glad we visited the B&B. The owners are helpful, friendly and have created a lovely atmosphere in their home. We will be returning when we finally are able to do our hike.

Reviewer:Sarah P | Sun 13th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Warm and friendly - Rating 5/5

Second visit this year which says it all! Henry and Lauren are warm and welcoming and you feel like friends. Last minute booking so had the only non en suite room, but no problem as our own private shower room across the corridor with bathrobes supplied. Excellent breakfast especially eggs benedict, and home made bread and marmalade. Great location near Valley of the Rocks plus easy walk into Lynton, what is there not to like? We will return!

Reviewer:Mrs Sue M | Wed 9th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Top Class Stay! - Rating 5/5

Had great stay, extremely comfortable room, fa tastic breakfasts, and excellent location.Would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Carolyn K | Tue 8th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Welcoming enviroment & excellent breakfast - Rating 5/5

A quiet location on the edge of Lynton. You can walk from the door. Good quality breakfast &comfortable room made for an enjoyable stay. Thanks.

Reviewer:Mr. Ian H | Sun 23rd Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely stay in a great location - Rating 5/5

We spent 3 nights at Longmead House and had a lovely welcome from Lauren, which got our stay off to a great start.Henry's breakfasts are delicious, and Lauren makes a point of remembering everyone's name which adds to the feeling of welcome.Longmead House was in a perfect location for us - near the start of some great walks - coast and countryside.At the same time it was within short walking distance of restaurants for an evening meal, yet quietly situated.If you are looking for this type of location, with a warm welcome, delicious breakfasts, and high standards of cleanliness, stay here! We certainly will if we are able to visit Lynton again.

Reviewer:Amanda & Alan L | Tue 18th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Great stay and fantastic hospitality - Rating 5/5

My second stay at Longmead and Lauren &Henrycould not be better hosts.Comfort and luxury all combined with an amazing location and the most bostin' cooked breakfast you can get (bostin means excellent by the way, I'm from the Black Country;)

Reviewer:Steven D | Fri 7th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent Accommodation & Service - Rating 5/5

Immaculate accommodation, very friendly &helpful owners.Fantastic breakfast with plenty of choice including fresh fruit salad, homemade bread &preserves and of course cooked breakfast. We had the room with our own bathroom across landing, but not a problem. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Ms E I | Thu 29th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent stay- Rating 5/5

We had a great time at longmead house. We stayed for a week and found Lauren and Henry very welcoming and friendly. The food was first class. We would recommend staying at long mead house to everyone. Well done Lauren and Henry

Reviewer:Mr. gordon f | Mon 26th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


We keep going back for more - Rating 5/5

After a 2yr health break we returned to Longmead delighted that very little has changed. New owners but the place has the same comfortable feel and the room we had was immaculate with a very comfy bed. Henry's breakfasts were fabulous! Lauren and Henry were very welcoming and friendly and on hand to help with any advice about the area. Will definitely be returning next year. Thanks for a lovely week.

Reviewer:Ms. KimJ | Sun 18th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


short break - Rating 5/5

This was our second visit.Henry and Lauren are excellent hosts, so nice and friendly.The room was lovely and the breakfasts great.

Reviewer:Mr. John B | Sat 10th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Londmead House May 2017 - Rating 5/5

My 4th stay at Longmead House. As always, the welcome was the warmest and the cooked breakfasts the tastiest. Ideally situated for access to coastal, woodland and riverside footpaths and walks, this is a lovely place to stay to enjoy the fresh greenness of Spring . Thank you Lauren and Henry - we look forward to our next visit.

Reviewer:Miss. Jacky C | Sat 20th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Great B&B - Rating 5/5

My husband and I had a 2 night stay at Longmead House, Lauren and Henry were very welcoming and they kindly locked our bikes in their garage. We stayed in room1 which had the king size bed. Lovely room, I especially liked the chair in the bay window, which was lovely and sunny. Room was spotless. Henry's cooked breakfast was superb, I can recommend the scramble eggs with smoked salmon. Lauren was very helpful in recommend restaurants and places to go. We would definitely stay again. Thanks for a most enjoyable weekend break.

Reviewer:Mrs. Debbie M | Mon 15th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Staying at Longmead - Rating 5/5

We had a delightful stay at Longmead House recently.Our hosts were charming and very helpful suggesting what to see and where to eat. Our room was very comfortable and breakfast was delicious. The best thing was being able to leave our car in the car park and walk everywhere. We would not hesitate to recommend this B&B to others.

Reviewer:Mrs. Susan P | Mon 24th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Like Staying With Friends - Rating 5/5

We had a very warm welcome from Henry and Lauren who sat down with us over a cup of tea and told us about local walks, pubs and restaurants. They also offered to make bookings for us.Very good breakfasts, with fruit every day. The highlight for us was eggs benedict.Clean and comfortable room.A good location a few minutes walk from Lynton's restaurants.

Reviewer:Travelled as a c | Wed 12th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Personal, Warm Welcome - Rating 5/5

Had a truly lovely weekend at Longmead House. Lauren and Henry could not have done more for us during our stay. The room was exactly what we were hoping for. In particular the bedding and bed was amazing, wifi excellent, cleanilness faultless and breakfast delicious!

Reviewer:Runners, travelled as a c | Tue 4th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Fantastic Place, Luxury and Homely - Rating 5/5

Lovely warm welcome from Lauren & Henry, luxury, comfort and a homely feel, plus great lounge with well-stocked bar and woodburner. Had a single room, very cosy and clean at a very reasonable rate, stayed for 3 nights whilst exploring the coast, SW coast path and loads of NT places to visit in the area, just minutes from the Valley of the Rocks complete with wild goats (in the valley not in the B&B). Great places to eat and drink nearby. Cooked breakfasts totally rocked and of course came with black pudding, will be going back for my Autumn coast walking break.

Reviewer:Travelled S | Tue 28th Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


“So friendly and welcoming”- Rating 5/5

Arriving after a long drive, it was so good to receive a friendly welcome. I am a single traveller and it was so refreshing to feel so relaxed. The room was exactly what I needed with such a comfortable bed, everything I needed for a short stay and so clean. Breakfast had so much to offer and the home made bread, marmalade and jam were so delicious. Perfect to set me up for a day out. Lauren went over the local area for me with places to eat and to visit. I will certainly go back as it is an ideal place to stay to explore the local area. A huge thank you to Lauren and Henry.

Reviewer:Travelled S | Wed 12th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


- Rating 5/5

“Brilliant!” A wonderful B&B in a great location for exploring North Devon. The house and rooms are spotless, breakfast is delicious with a wide range of options and the owners, Lauren & Henry, are incredibly welcoming with lots of knowledge and information on the local area. Highly recommended, we have already planned our trip down for next year.

Reviewer:Travelled As A C | Wed 5th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


“Wow - a fabulous b & b!”- Rating 5/5

Incredible bed and breakfast accommodation with wonderful hosts, Lauren and Henry. We were greeted with hot drinks and flapjack, given a brief outline of the accommodation, surrounding area, walks etc. and then shown to our rooms which were all beautifully presented with lots of little extras. Henry's breakfasts were delicious - full English and eggs benedict cooked to perfection. Lauren and Henry really strive 100% to make your stay with them perfect.

Reviewer:Travelled With F | Wed 14th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Fantastic stay, amazing hosts - Rating 5/5

We have just returned from a weekend with Lauren and Henry and have had a fantastic stay. As hosts they were spot on. I have Coeliac Disease and they were able to fully accommodate gluten free sausages and bread for breakfast. Lauren was also able to advise on local eateries where we could find gluten free food.The room was spotless and has everything you would hope to find. The bed was big and comfy with lovely crisp linen.It's hard to believe that Lauren and Henry have only been at Longmead House for a year. The professionalism they show cannot be surpassed. I would recommend Longmead House to anyone visiting North Devon. It is just on the edge of where the Valley of The Rocks meets the town so is perfectly situated for walks and visits to the various shops and restaurants etc. on offer. "

Reviewer:Travelled With F | Tue 12th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Third visit to Longmead House - Rating 5/5

This was our third visit to Longmead House. Once again we enjoyed our stay. Henry & Lauren made us very welcome. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable. Henry's breakfast was great. All produce locally sourced. Longmead House is a great base for exploring. There are great walks wonderful scenery and lots of places to eat. We would highly recommend this B&B and look forward to our next visit. Chris & John

Reviewer:Travelled With F | Tue 5th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Exellent stay in Linton - Rating 5/5

Exellent rooms, fantastic breakfast and very friendly hosts.

Reviewer:Mrs. Kirsten P | Mon 1st Aug 2011 | 7 years ago


Brilliant!- Rating 5/5

Very nice room, excellent food and extremely nice people - best B&B ever!

Reviewer:Mr. David C | Mon 1st Aug 2011 | 7 years ago


Thanks for everything - Rating 4/5

We had an enjoyable three day stay in Longmeadhouse. Alan &Caroline were very welcoming and the breakfast was varied and excellent.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul V | Fri 24th Jun 2011 | 7 years ago


Longmead House - Rating 4/5

We arent used to B&B type accommodation but this appeared to be the best option in this area.Longmead house was well located and we had a very warm and friendly welcome.Our room was clean, well equipped and the bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic and deserves 5 stars, great place to stay.

Reviewer:Miss. SueM | Tue 14th Jun 2011 | 7 years ago


Nice and Comfortable - Rating 4/5

Very warm welcome and hospitality. Clean and nice and good breakfast menu. Location very good in respect of day trips, walking etc. to Valley of Rocks, Lynmouth, Exmoor and other places along the Heritage Cost.

Reviewer:Mrs. Dorte F | Tue 24th May 2011 | 7 years ago


“Great break ”- Rating 5/5

What a fabulous B+B, Lauren and Henry are fabulous hosts, their attention to detail is what you would expect at a higher rated hotel. Their personal touch makes this a stand out venue. The freshly cooked breakfast is second to none with the added homemade bread and marmalades a real classy touch. We will be back again.

Reviewer:Travelled With F | Tue 16th Aug 2005 | 13 years ago


Cozy B&B - Rating 5/5

Warm Hosts, Great Location” Had a truly wonderful stay here. Lauren and Henry were incredibly warm and welcoming! Delicious breakfasts (homemade bread and marmalades were to die for), very clean and cozy. A short walk from the Valley of Rocks, which is what initially drew me in. There is no shortage of stunning scenery in the area. Absolutely nothing negative to say about this place and I can only hope I get to return! Highly, HIGHLY recommended.

Reviewer:Travelled S | Tue 9th Aug 2005 | 13 years ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Family Rooms
  • Wifi
  • Bicycle Rent
  • Horse Riding
  • Vegetarian
  • Wedding Functions
  • Romantic Breaks
  • Walking Holidays
  • Country Retreat